Florida law requires all drivers to operate their vehicles at a safe speed, which means you should respect the posted speed limit on the highway. Should you go beyond that speed, you can face various penalties depending on how much beyond the limit you were driving.
The state also has laws that mandate drivers to drive below the posted speed limit that is a “reasonable and prudent” speed based on the conditions of the road. If the weather conditions are hazardous, construction work is going on, or another factor that may interfere with the standard speed limit, you have to drive slower than the posted speed limit.
Although driving less than five miles over the speed limit may result in a simple warning, fines, points on your driver’s license, and other penalties can happen if you speed on a Florida highway, especially if you are violating additional traffic regulations.
- Less than 6 MPH over the speed limit in a school or construction zone: Approximately $155,
- Between 6 MPH and 9 MPH over the speed limit: Approximately $130
- Between 10 MPH and 14 MPH over the speed limit: Approximately $205
- Between 15 MPH and 19 MPH over the speed limit: Approximately $255
- Between 19 MPH and 29 MPH over the speed limit: Approximately $280
- Above 29 MPH over the speed limit: Mandatory Court appearance is required
Fines can increase if you commit additional traffic violations or are involved in an accident. You can also receive other penalties like points on your driver’s license.
Points on Driver’s License
If you pay your speeding ticket, rather than fight it, you will have points assessed on your driving record. Drivers usually get 3 points on their license if they went up to 15 miles above the speed limit and four points if they went above 15 miles over the authorized speed. If your speeding caused an accident, you get additional points.
Suspension of Your Driver’s License
If speeding or other traffic violations result in twelve points on your driver’s license over twelve months, you get your license suspended for 30 days. This generally requires that you take an advanced driver improvement course to get your license back.
Make sure not to drive while your license is suspended, as it is a serious offense in Florida and can result in severe penalties.
A speeding ticket can result in an increase in insurance costs if you. pay the ticket, as you will be adjudicated guilty.
When Speeding Becomes Reckless Driving
When you drive excessively over the speed limit, you could be charged with reckless driving, which is classified as a misdemeanor and requires a mandatory court hearing.
Speeding 50 PMH or more above the limit can lead to a third-degree felony charge in addition to standard reckless driving. If you violate any additional traffic laws or cause an accident, you can also end up with a felony conviction and severe penalties.
In Florida, a reckless driving felony conviction can result in:
- Up to five years in prison
- Up to 5,000 in fines
- Up to 10 years of driver’s license suspension
- Vehicle confiscation
Can I Contest the Speeding Ticket in Florida?
If you are considering challenging a speeding ticket, you should consult an attorney that specializes in traffic tickets and can review your situation and make recommendations accordingly.
Here are some possible defense strategies against a speeding ticket:
- You could not see a posted speed limit sign because something obstructed it
- You may contest the officer’s training or method used to measure your speed
- Existing conditions did not create a situation requiring a speed lower than the posted limit
Speaking with a reputable attorney can make a positive difference in whether you challenge your speeding ticket and securing a positive outcome if you decide to do so.Are you considering challenging a speeding ticket in Fort Lauderdale or its surrounding areas? Contact The Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Grossman, LLC, today at (954) 280-8811 to schedule a consultation!